This has also made me remove my sig as it will return results from any thread that I post in...
Being someone who internets pretty hard, I have always been one to keep track of my exposure on the internet.
From Facebook to Twitter, I use them sparingly and keep my shit pretty tight.
Today I was reviewing my grow log and knowing that this site is visible to search engines I Googled "chemdog ikea" and sure enough this site pops up as #1... no surprise there, really.. what was surprising was that 3 links down there was another site that had my exact thread title linked.
LINK: http://abusemarijuana.com/home/?p=1268
I have left a comment, asking for it to be removed and it is awaiting moderation so at least we'll know he'll read it.
This site is full of threads jacked from open forums... pictures and everything.
Does anyone else see this as a potential problem?
This has also made me remove my sig as it will return results from any thread that I post in...
Yeah, they're called Linkbacks. It's a very common thing on the internet. Look below the Rollitup thread, and you will see them.
![]()
AKA potroast ..
That seems kinda ridiculous to me considering the type of forum this is... not that you can even read that linkback menu. (hint hint)
It seems more like this site has farmed articles from threads that appear in the "Forum Threads" feed of the main page.
The threads are being posted the same day that they're started here.
Is there an RSS feed for that somewhere?
Either way, I'm considering removing my photo album from the place I have them hosted... and possibly stop my grow log.
Here's another example...
http://abusemarijuana.com/home/?p=1566
Has a picture of someone holding a plant...
Sure it's not directly accessible to everyone, but making an account here takes 30 seconds.
Nobody is linking back to these threads.
Other than pictures, there are no actual links to the threads being jacked.
How exactly are you interpretting this as a security threat? No one knows who eletronug is and pictures of your plants isnt going to get you caught no matter how viral they become.
I do think its kinda funny though that your journal is posted in a marijuana ABUSE website hahaha funny
Kali Mist(serious seeds)- http://www.rollitup.org/grow-journal...w-journal.html Clone storage- http://www.rollitup.org/general-mari...these+genetics
1000's of threads are posted there...
Regardless of anyone knowing who anyone actually is, it's still a privacy concern.
They are obviousle hyjacking for the banner revenue - banner impressions on page = revenue. Not saying it's right, just that it exists.
Bookmarks